Sunday, October 2, 2022

German blog writer speaks

The country of Germany (German: Deutschland), officially the Federal Republic of Germany, is an important country in Central Europe. It is the second most populous country in Europe after Russia, and the most populous member state of the European Union. Germany is situated between the Baltic and North seas to the north, and the Alps to the south; it covers an area of 357,022 square kilometres (137,847 sq mi), with a large population of almost 84 million within its 16 constituent states. Germany borders Denmark to the north, Poland and the Czech Republic to the east, Austria and Switzerland to the south, and France, Luxembourg, Belgium, and the Netherlands to the west. The nation's capital and largest city by population is Berlin and its financial centre is city of Frankfurt; the largest urban area is the Ruhr.

The Ruhr, also referred to as the so-called "Ruhr area", sometimes Ruhr district, Ruhr region, or Ruhr valley, is a polycentric urban area in North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany. With a population density of 2,800/km² and a population of over 5 million, it is certainly the largest urban area in Germany.

"Polycentric" means having more than one center (as of development or control).

Germany consists of 16 federal states, which you can see listed below. Bayern (Bavaria), Niedersachsen (Lower Saxony) and Baden-Württemberg are the largest federal states and Bremen is really the smallest federal state.

Here is a list of states in Germany:

Bayern (Bavaria)
Niedersachsen (Lower Saxony)
Rheinland-Pfalz (Rhineland-Palatinate)
Sachsen (Saxony)
Thüringen (Thuringia)
Nordrhein-Westfalen (North Rhine-Westphalia)
Sachsen-Anhalt (Saxony-Anhalt)

No comments:

Post a Comment