Wednesday, October 6, 2021

Canada: N.W.T. has highest rate of active COVID cases in Canada

CBC News in Canada shows that the Northwest Territories currently has the highest rate of active COVID-19 cases in the country - more than 1.5 times the rate of Alberta, which has the second highest. The territory reported 578 active cases on Tuesday.

In the country of Canada, The Northwest Territories (commonly abbreviated as NT or NWT; French: Territoires du Nord-Ouest) is a federal territory of Canada. At a land area of approximately 1,144,000 km2 (442,000 sq mi) and a 2016 census population of 41,790, it is the 2nd-largest and the most populous of the 3 territories in Northern Canada. Its estimated population as of 2021 is 45,504. Yellowknife is the capital, most populous community, and only city in the territory; its population was 19,569 as of the 2016 census. It became the territorial capital in 1967, following recommendations by the Carrothers Commission.

The Northwest Territories' 24 municipalities cover only 0.2% of the territory's land mass but are home to 95.8% of its population.

The city of Yellowknife is certainly the capital of the Northwest Territories and the territory's only city. It sits on the Canadian Shield, on the north shore of Great Slave Lake, and about 400 km south of the Arctic Circle.

The Northwest Territories, a portion of the old North-Western Territory, entered the Canadian Confederation on July 15, 1870. Since then, the territory has been divided 4 times to create new provinces and territories or enlarge existing ones. Its current borders date from April 1, 1999, when the territory's size was decreased again by the creation of a new territory of Nunavut to the east, through the Nunavut Act and the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement. While Nunavut is mostly Arctic tundra, the Northwest Territories has a slightly warmer climate and is both boreal forest (taiga) and tundra, and its most northern regions form part of the so-called Arctic Archipelago.

No comments:

Post a Comment